Layby

Discussions, hints and tips for users of Retail-Man Point of Sale, from Ezi Solution.

Moderators: sami, graham

Layby

Postby Nuno » Thu May 04, 2006 7:27 pm

Hi,

Can someone explain how the layby works, I'm not familiar with it.
Does it count for tax reports?

regards

Nuno
Nuno
Standard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Postby sami » Fri May 05, 2006 1:28 am

Hi Nuno,

Laybys are used to book stock to clients, so if a client comes in and does not have the money to buy, they will ask you to keep it on layby, then they pay you on installments, and when all is paid, the Layby gets converted to an invoice. Laybys payments will affect client payments file, but the stock stays in until it is invoiced.
When the client has a layby, and he/she comes back to part pay it, you just recall the layby and apply that payment on it, then once it has been fully paid, the system will automatically convert it to invoice.
Regarding Tax, Laybys are considered like deposits, you do not pay tax on them until it is converted in to an invoice.
sami
Site Admin
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Nuno » Mon May 08, 2006 4:18 pm

thanks!
Nuno
Standard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Postby Nuno » Tue May 16, 2006 3:46 pm

I've done some testing regarding layby.
I raised some laybys but it doesn't subtract physical stock and add to layby.
So I have to setup anything?
Nuno
Standard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Postby sami » Tue May 16, 2006 4:38 pm

Laybys do not subtract from stock until it is converted in to an invoice. This is done to reflect the actual situation, where the stock stays in until the customer buys it.
sami
Site Admin
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Nuno » Tue May 16, 2006 4:46 pm

So what is the "Qty on Layby" in the stock card?
Nuno
Standard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Postby Jaeger » Tue May 16, 2006 8:26 pm

Oh, that'll be the number of items on layby. :wink:

I had an issue with not removing stock at Layby but, as the girls in the shop pointed out "We would take the stock and put it away for the customer and update the Layby when they come in". Kinda solves that one. If it ain't there they can't sell it (twice).

The Layby Qty on the stock card will report (see the stock reports) Qty in Layby then if you've got a shortage you can order more even though you have numbers in stock.
Jaeger
Standard
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Postby Nuno » Tue May 16, 2006 11:39 pm

Hi, thanks for the answer, but in my tests that qty never gets updated:)
Nuno
Standard
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 11:33 pm


Return to Retail-Man

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron